There is no standard definition defined by the government for “vegetarian” or “vegan”. Therefore, Nikken’s
definitions may be more or less strict than yours. Please confirm with your regulatory team what their
requirements (or your customer’s requirements) are for “vegan” and “vegetarian” labeling.
1. Products do not contain and are not processed with animal products or animal by-products including
meat, fish, fowl, silk or dyes from insects, eggs or egg products, milk or milk products, honey or honey
2. Products are not produced, processed, clarified or finished with any animal or animal derived products.
3. Products do not utilize animal-derived GM/GEs or other types of gene modification in the manufacturing
1. Products do not contain animal products including meat, fish, fowl, animal by-products (including silk or
dyes from insects)
2. Products may utilize animal derived products in processing (egg derived enzyme or bone char)
3. Products may contain potentially non-segregated GM/GE products
4. Items listed as Vegetarian may meet your definition for Vegan; please consult your regulatory team